Wednesday, August 02, 2006

Wishing for Asthma

doc visit was inconclusive {sigh}

Funny - or not - to actually WISH she'd said "yup, you have asthma". EKG normal (good), and I'm getting plenty of oxygen (good) but the lung capacity test showed some limitation. So they did an asthma test where you breath in asthma meds for 10 minutes and they test your lung capacity again. If it got better, then the meds helped, and you have asthma. The meds did NOT make me feel better, so I was not surprised when the follow up lung capacity test showed no improvement.

So...fasting blood work tomorrow morning with a complete allergy profile, thyroid function, blah, blah, blah, and a chest x-ray. If that all comes back clean then she'll order an exercise induced asthma test where they have you on a treadmill while they do the asthma med test again (although she said exercise induced asthma doesn't explain why I have the tightness all the time) and maybe an ultrasound of my heart (jesus, that sounds bad!). I need to wait a week to know the results of the x-ray and the blood work, which sucks.

Two things worry me...I told her when my heart rate gets the slightest bit elevated, like over 100, that it kicks up she said "hmm, that's not normal" (shit) and she said they need to rule things out like a blood clot in my lung (blood clot?!! fuck!).

Mike says I'm in the medical triangle now, and that I should just keep doing low level cardio until it gets better. But it seems to kick up in the afternoons after doing cardio, even when I keep my heart rate below 95, and that is just not normal, which concerns me. Of course, today I don't know if it's from this morning's workout or from the stupid asthma meds! Tomorrow's a pilates class, which always seems to make me feel better, and Friday and Saturday I think I'm going to only do a short warm up and then lift. Until I know for sure what the fuck is going on with me (blood clot?! fuck!) I'm not going to risk aggravating it with any sort of cardio.

No comments: