So now that I know it's not asthma I'm dealing with, I'm not afraid any longer that a little cardio is gonna make me DIE or set me back too far.
Did a nice little 10 minute warm up before doing legs today. Nothing crazy, but I did get my heart rate up to about 115. I know, I was going to lay off cardio completely for a month, but thinking about doing lunges without warming up first just felt a little...well, stupid! Had a nice little "combo legs" session. Several kinds of lunges, some one-legged squats and one-legged bridges using the Bosu Ball. Resting between legs if my heart rate go up too high and always letting it get back into the 80's before doing the next exercise. Finished with 20 minutes of stretching and my morning qi gong routine. On the way out we started up the steam room in the gym and stood in there in our workout clothes breathing in steam for 5 minutes or so.
Don't know how I'll feel later, but right now I feel great. Yes, I still have a little chest congestion, but it feels better for having had a little bit of work.

No comments:
Post a Comment